Geography of Bhutan

The Kingdom of Bhutan lies towards the eastern extreme of the Himalayan Range, between the Tibet Autonomous Region to the north and India to the south, southwest and east.  The country is surrounded by Nepal to the west, Bangladesh to the south, both separated by small stretches of Indian territory. Bhutan is a mountainous country and landlocked with an area of  approximate 46,500 Sq. KM.
The Himalayas dominate the north of the country, where many mountain peaks reach seven thousand metres. Further south, the highlands are the most populous part of the nation, with the capital of Thimphu lying in the western highlands. This region is characterized by its many rivers, the isolated river valleys that house most of the population, and the expansive forests that cover seventy percent of the nation. The extreme southern strip of the nation consists mostly of tropical plains, more typical of India. 


Official Name Kingdom of Bhutan
Capital Thimpu
Population 716,896 (CIA world factbook, July 2012 est.)
Languages Dzongkha (official), Nepali, English and numerous regional languages
Main Religions Buddhism, some Hinduism
Time Zone; 6 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (+6 GMT). Daylight Saving Time is not observed
Voltage Requirements 220 Volts
Telephone Code 975, country cod